This May be My Last Post Here

electric heavenDear Readers-

This blog initially began in the spirit of talking about cultivating the comforts of home, living with dogs, and my faith.  The 2016 election and my response to the ensuing cultural derangement of our country took over my focus.  As I watched with horror at what I was seeing I responded in kind by pointing out where my sisters and brothers were wrong.  Whether my observations were correct or not, I’m not particularly fond of the contributions I made to the vitriol of it all with this blog.  Not that this was all I discussed, it’s enough to make me examine my words and my heart.

Focus matters and this E-space has been an unfocused mess.  From posts about liberals acting crazy to food to talking about my marriage I didn’t always say what I really wanted to.  For years I’ve used blogging as a means to speak out or convey a particular set of values and ideas and I’m not sure this ethos still interests me.  I’m not really sure being online even interests me now.  Having been off social media for years, blogging kept me in the loop so to speak with internet socializing.  Yet this worldliness increasingly leaves me cold.

Perhaps getting older and increasingly understanding where my hope lies helps foster a “what is all this for” feeling regarding putting things out there for people to read online.  For all the words we say in the fleeting pseudo-reality of the internet, the most important ones are what we say to one another, offline, and in our hearts.  Being caught up with the superfluous fancies of the latest grievance leads to a pretty unlived life and a lot of gossip.

To those of you who follow this blog (all 13 of you) I wish to say thank you.  I appreciate your time.  For now I have a lot of thinking to do about my relationship to this medium and what makes the most sense.  It’s time to assess what’s really important in terms of social internet platforms.  It’s also time to move away (again) from politics and news.

For now I’m taking a break.  We’ll see what happens next.  I wish each of you a very Merry Christmas!

Lastly, I’ll add that I heard this beautiful song recently by Mandisa entitled “Bleed the Same” ( https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UEzCQBwQkdA). It speaks very deeply to how I felt about this last year and I hope the lyrics touch you like they touched me.  God bless and may He show us in 2018 how to love one another.

We all bleed the same
We’re more beautiful when we come together
We all bleed the same
So tell me why, tell me why we’re divided

Woke up today
Another headline, another innocent life is taken
In the name of hatred
So hard to take
And if we think that it’s all good
Then we’re mistaken
‘Cause my heart is breakin’

Are you left, are you right
Pointing fingers, taking sides
When are we gonna realize

We all bleed the same
We’re more beautiful when we come together
We all bleed the same
So tell me why, tell me why we’re divided
If we’re gonna fight, let’s fight for each other
If we’re gonna shout, let love be the cry

Tell me who are we
To judge someone by the kind of clothes they’re wearin’
Or the color of their skin
Are you black, are you white
Aren’t we all the same inside
Father, open our eyes to see

Only love can drive out all the darkness
What are we fightin’ for
We were made to carry one another
We were made for more

Let’s stand united, let’s stand united

 

One thought on “This May be My Last Post Here

  1. I understand. I have been in and out over the last several months. I posted five times in one week and then not at all for probably a month. I seem to be at a loss for words that have any value for which I can be proud. I will miss your random posts and I hope you return at some point. Until then, I wish you a blessed Christmas Season, full of the joy of the Lord!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

